Review Bats Here...

 :: Review Centre :: Bats

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Bat Reviews.

Post by Danny on Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:40 am

Please use a layout similar to this when reviewing your bat...

Make, model etc

Initial thoughts

Looks - can include image

Performance

Spec

Custom made or off the shelf?

Price

Star rating out of 10

Comments

Thank you.
avatar
Danny
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 620
Age : 25
Location : Lancashire, England
Bowling Action : Off-Spin
Batting Style : Stroke Player
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Josh on Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:07 am

Make and Model: Laver & Wood Churchill
Initial thoughts: For a top end grade 3 bat, it looks fabtastic, really nice straight grains and hardly any blemishes.
Looks: Love the Carbo stickers, plenty of wood shown but really stylish stickers
Performance: Pings like mad, pick-up is excellent and has a really nice balance.
Spec: SH, standard blade length, 2lbs 8ozs, sweet spot is middle, to slightly higher, Handle is carbon and Oval.
Custom made
99
10/10

Really good value for money bat.


Here are some pics









Last edited by on Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:03 am; edited 1 time in total
avatar
Josh
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 223
Age : 24
Location : United Kingdom
Bowling Action : Left Arm, Fast Medium
Batting Style : Right Handed, Opening batsman
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://www.facricket.tk

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Leo on Mon Dec 31, 2007 1:52 pm

Make, model : Fusion Sports Superbest

Initial thoughts : The willow is very pale but i loved the straight grains and pickup

Looks - can include image : 9 straight grains of sapwood


Spec : 2lb 8, Slight Bow,Mid Middle

Custom made or off the shelf? : Custom Made

Price : Free but RRP 195

Star rating out of 10 : 9

Comments
I really recomend people to try Fusion! Very friendly and helpful service and top quality bats!


Last edited by on Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:24 pm; edited 2 times in total
avatar
Leo
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 1016
Bowling Action : Right Arm Fast
Batting Style : Aggressive
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://facricket.topicboard.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Slogga on Mon Dec 31, 2007 2:18 pm

Make, model etc : Gunn & Moore Purist Original LE

Initial thoughts : Wood has a few blemishes but I loved the traditional profile

Looks - can include image : 9 grains 2 heartwood on the outside edge...just what i wanted

Performance : It pings!!! So easy to drive with

Spec : 2lb 9 SH

Custom made or off the shelf? : Off the shelf

Price : 160

Star rating out of 10

Comments
Great bat I recomend it...might try a custom bat next time though! clown

Slogga
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 181
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Sticky on Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:14 pm

Make, model etc- Fusion Superbest SH

Initial thoughts- Perfect! Well worth the wait

Looks - http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/5250/pc190076ht2.jpg
http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/7513/pc190077ab5.jpg
http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/6963/pc190078li9.jpg
http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/2050/pc190079fr7.jpg
http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/3181/pc190080qw4.jpg

Performance, Like a gun

Spec 2lb8, Middle Middle,Oval Handle, Full Sapwood

Custom made or off the shelf? Custom Made

Price 150 including 25% discount

Star rating out of 10 - 8/10

Comments Haven't netted with it yet but it seems to be a gun Very Happy

Sticky
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 54
Age : 25
Location : North East England
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by superjaffa on Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:52 pm

nice bat leo not bad duvet either Very Happy

superjaffa
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 251
Age : 24
Location : rochdale
Bowling Action : right arm medium
Batting Style : stroke
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Slogga on Tue Jan 01, 2008 4:52 am

Wow i love those bats Leo and Sticky. Such nice grains - might be getting my self a Fusion early this year!

Slogga
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 181
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Josh on Tue Jan 01, 2008 6:53 am

Yeah I'm thinking of getting a Fusion, maybe a new year's present for me!
lol
avatar
Josh
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 223
Age : 24
Location : United Kingdom
Bowling Action : Left Arm, Fast Medium
Batting Style : Right Handed, Opening batsman
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://www.facricket.tk

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Alex on Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:02 am

Newbery Mjolnir C6+ Custom made SSH

2lb 9
Pick up is great, pings amazing best ive had.
Mid to high middle
190 worth every penny.

http://illiweb.com/fa/pbucket.gif
http://illiweb.com/fa/pbucket.gif
http://illiweb.com/fa/pbucket.gif

Alex
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 112
Age : 24
Location : Newcastle, united kingdom
Registration date : 2008-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Josh on Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:13 am

Nice bat Alex, looks lovely. Have you used it since those photos were taken?
avatar
Josh
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 223
Age : 24
Location : United Kingdom
Bowling Action : Left Arm, Fast Medium
Batting Style : Right Handed, Opening batsman
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://www.facricket.tk

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Alex on Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:19 am

Not in a net yet, will be soon. I tend to hit a cricket ball in by back garden or 'livingroom' when my parents arent there. Comes off very nicely.

Alex
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 112
Age : 24
Location : Newcastle, united kingdom
Registration date : 2008-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Josh on Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:22 am

well I bet it will be great. The grains look lovely.
avatar
Josh
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 223
Age : 24
Location : United Kingdom
Bowling Action : Left Arm, Fast Medium
Batting Style : Right Handed, Opening batsman
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://www.facricket.tk

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Leo on Tue Jan 01, 2008 7:55 am

Alex wrote:Not in a net yet, will be soon. I tend to hit a cricket ball in by back garden or 'livingroom' when my parents arent there. Comes off very nicely.
Haha the amount of lights inside ive smashed doing that! Laughing
avatar
Leo
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 1016
Bowling Action : Right Arm Fast
Batting Style : Aggressive
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://facricket.topicboard.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Josh on Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:47 am

Leo wrote:
Alex wrote:Not in a net yet, will be soon. I tend to hit a cricket ball in by back garden or 'livingroom' when my parents arent there. Comes off very nicely.
Haha the amount of lights inside ive smashed doing that! Laughing

lol, me too!
avatar
Josh
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 223
Age : 24
Location : United Kingdom
Bowling Action : Left Arm, Fast Medium
Batting Style : Right Handed, Opening batsman
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://www.facricket.tk

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by sambo on Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:26 am

Name: Kookaburra Angry Beast

Thoughts: Heavy, Decent sized middle, good looking for a grade 3 willow. Grains not straight but looks arent every thing.

Looks: Graphite backed, 24 mm edges.
http://www.bigbluecricket.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=467

Porformance: Good, Sometimes jars in the hands when the ball misses the middle to a fast bowler. when hit in the middle the ball goes like a formula 1. Good six hitting bat.

Specs: SH, Half Graphite matrix backing, 24 mm edges, 2'11 or thereabouts

Price: $350 australian dollars.

Rating: 8.5/10.
avatar
sambo
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 287
Age : 23
Location : australia
Bowling Action : right arm leggies and the occasional lethal bouncer
Batting Style : aggresive nugding slogger. assuming thats possible
Registration date : 2008-01-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Ross on Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:40 am

Josh wrote:
Leo wrote:
Alex wrote:Not in a net yet, will be soon. I tend to hit a cricket ball in by back garden or 'livingroom' when my parents arent there. Comes off very nicely.
Haha the amount of lights inside ive smashed doing that! Laughing

lol, me too!

Dents in the wall for me...

Ross
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 71
Location : Bedford
Bowling Action : Right arm medium, bit of out swing as well
Batting Style : Aggresive stroke maker, no huge swings from me!
Registration date : 2008-01-03

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by liam_sccc on Sun Jan 13, 2008 11:47 am

i got my couz to hold a mallet and i was playin shots and hitting it and then he let go and it took out a light.
avatar
liam_sccc
County Cricketer
County Cricketer

Number of posts : 690
Age : 24
Location : Dorset, England
Bowling Action : Right Arm Medium Fast, Away Swing
Batting Style : Stroke Player
Registration date : 2008-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Cricketmad on Sun Jan 13, 2008 12:34 pm

lmao I have broken a few light too
avatar
Cricketmad
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 262
Age : 25
Location : Dorset, England
Registration date : 2008-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by sambo on Tue Jan 15, 2008 4:22 pm

i break light just by practising bowling.
avatar
sambo
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 287
Age : 23
Location : australia
Bowling Action : right arm leggies and the occasional lethal bouncer
Batting Style : aggresive nugding slogger. assuming thats possible
Registration date : 2008-01-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Leo on Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:22 pm

Name: Woodworm wand performance

Thoughts: Nice middle good pickup but very thin!

Looks: Nice bat 8 grains a few little specs- not bad
Porformance:
Average...good middle poor everywhere else broke far too quickly! Snapped like flintoffs did!
Specs: size 6, 2lb 2 ish

Price: 60

Rating: 7/10.
avatar
Leo
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 1016
Bowling Action : Right Arm Fast
Batting Style : Aggressive
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://facricket.topicboard.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by keeper13 on Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:25 am

Make, model Gm Hero 707

Looks - minor blemishes and a lo of cherry marks

Performance god


Custom made or off the shelf? off the shelf

Price 100

Star rating out of 10 8

Comments good buy for the money
avatar
keeper13
Rising Star
Rising Star

Number of posts : 341
Bowling Action : leg spin bowl a good ball once in a while
Batting Style : give itt a good wack
Registration date : 2008-02-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by BlarneyArmy on Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:33 am

Introduction: My current bat is a Slazenger SXI stickered up as a Bosom Double D

Appearance: My bat looks lush. Nice clean face with only one blemish on the bat, but the thing that makes it stand out is the stickers. Look at the bosoms on my bat. :-) I topped it of with a pink grip.

Service: I got this from Lion Sports my local cricket shop (50mins away). I ordered it over the phone as they didnt have any in stock. They said they would have in in 3 days so I came back and they got the SX in. I wasn`t pleased. Then I got a call a few days later saying they hadit. So I got my sister to collect it as she works/lives near thereand they had it. Overall I would say I was happy as I ordered it a week before Xmas.

Willow: Grade 2 English Willow

Weight: 2" 8

Grains: 8

Pickup: Very good, Had 2 grips on but just one now

Edges: 27mm

Handle: 9 Piece Premium Oval Cane

Rebound: Ping is amazing. You know when you really middle one

Performance: Great, ball rockets to the boundary every time you middle it, and find the gap

Cost: 135, abit dear at first thought, but now I am glad I got it


Star Rating:9.13/10

Conclusion: This bat is for the player who likes big hits :-)
avatar
BlarneyArmy
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 257
Age : 25
Location : Northern Ireland
Bowling Action : Off Spin, Medium Pace
Batting Style : Stroke Player
Registration date : 2008-01-06

View user profile http://www.armaghcricketclub.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Leo on Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:36 am

Redback Surefire

Appearance: Clean face no marks or blemishes! 8 Ruler straight grains. Nice willow - none of this white gothic coloured crap

Service:
I got this direct from Gary - great service sent me pics very promptly. Was kept up to date throughout. Quick delivery

Willow: Grade 1 English Willow

Weight: 2" 8

Grains: 8

Pickup: Amazing...2 grips

Edges: 25mm

Handle: Round

Rebound: Ping is sureal. Even toe pings

Performance: Great, ball rockets to the boundary every time you middle it, and find the gap

Cost: 35


Star Rating:10/10

Conclusion: Forget GM and Gn Redback is the way to go!

_________________
We currently have 9278 Posts
Please be welcoming to our newest member olllet
avatar
Leo
Admin
Admin

Number of posts : 1016
Bowling Action : Right Arm Fast
Batting Style : Aggressive
Registration date : 2007-12-31

View user profile http://facricket.topicboard.net

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by keeper13 on Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:18 pm

leo how did you get it so cheap?
avatar
keeper13
Rising Star
Rising Star

Number of posts : 341
Bowling Action : leg spin bowl a good ball once in a while
Batting Style : give itt a good wack
Registration date : 2008-02-23

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by BlarneyArmy on Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:45 pm

It was getting refurbed
avatar
BlarneyArmy
Club cricketer
Club cricketer

Number of posts : 257
Age : 25
Location : Northern Ireland
Bowling Action : Off Spin, Medium Pace
Batting Style : Stroke Player
Registration date : 2008-01-06

View user profile http://www.armaghcricketclub.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Review Bats Here...

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 :: Review Centre :: Bats

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum